Mali president names new government after ex-PM’s resignation

Mali’s president has appointed the government of the country’s new prime minister, as he prepares for a presidential campaign amid an ongoing threat from militants.

According to a decree published Sunday, President Ibrahim Boubacar Keita installed 36 ministers for Soumeylou Boubeye Maiga’s government.

Six new members are entering the government, formed hours after 63-year-old Maiga’s appointment on Saturday following the unexpected resignation of Abdoulaye Idrissa Maiga on Friday.

Minister of Foreign Affairs Abdoulaye Diop has been replaced by Tieman Hubert Coulibaly, former Minister of Territorial Administration.

The new prime minister is considered close to Keita, despite having resigned as defense minister in 2014 after the Malian army suffered a string of setbacks against Tuareg rebel groups in the country’s restive northern region.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


Leave a Reply